Need to count my blessings…

As an Asian that was born in America and treated like a 2nd-class citizen by every walk of life, including, but not limited to, my own race… it is really easy to get very bitter… like into-the-depths-of-darkness bitter.

When I got married, a random acquaintance of my mom (who is Korean as well), not even a close friend… came out of nowhere raising hell about it since my wife is a non-believer.

She threatened to go to the elders, so in a stop-gap move my mom volunteered it instead… and it was cleared by them.

My real question is, Why the hell did this person even give a flying rat’s?

We “all look alike,” but dayam! We sure don’t live the same lives… but I have to be appreciative of what I have.

I’m always reminded of the fact that I’m not the only Asian living in squalid, oppressed conditions when I look at a few different pictures online.

Nanking images.

Images of people who have collapsed in death in North Korea.

Images of those jailed and later executed by the Khmer Rouge.

Images of what the Vietnamese did to each other in the 60s and 70s.

Images of people on death row in China.

Images of what happens to people accused of being part of Falun Gong…

You may ‘never see a homeless Asian’ in America, but there sure are plenty in Asia itself.

I need to be grateful for what I have.

 

One thought on “Need to count my blessings…

Leave a Reply

