No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

I love them court shows. One that I followed religiously, renewing heavy TV viewing that I had forsaken since I was a kid… so over 20 years… I found is sometimes staged or reenacted.

Anyway, I just discovered a new one today, with a 3-judge panel, kinda like SCOTUS, where the majority ruling is how the verdict goes down.

The meaner the judge(s), the more dramatic, and that is definitely what I’m all about when watching from the comfort of a living room.

Anyway the meanest, no-nonsense of the 3, the guy in the trio, mentioned a saying that I’ve repeated so many times myself that I can’t even remember… and definitely live believing:

No good deed goes unpunished.

Now at least in some cases Good Samaritan Law applies… but I’m talking about in general and not rescuing someone from a car stuck on a train track.

I go on eBay and look at items a lot. I tend to shy away from one even if it is really low in price if it has a couple of bidders. I hate the bidding war, hate the complex a bidding war can create… but here’s a bit of a redeeming factor:

In the case where there is one bidder or even a Watcher, I hate being THAT guy that dashed the person’s dream of snagging a great deal… especially when there are several others of the same item for barely a little more in cost.

I mean what if it’s a kid using what change he/she has to buy that videogame for $5 bucks?

Being the nice guy I am, I try to find an alternative, ‘Buy Now’ option even if I take a monetary hit for it. Good Kar… I mean I feel better about it in general.

No good deed goes unpunished.

I find a videogame I nostalgically was reminded of recently, no bidders, low price… and add it to my Watch List, conscious of the expiry of the listing.

Well, I go to buy it finally…

…and there is a bid on it, with a range at least enough to vanquish the two bids I tried.

I’m so glad to have people return the favor on how I philosophically deal with things.

No good deed goes unpunished.

The moral of this precautionary tale is that I hope others aren’t a person with tire tracks on their face like I have.

Don’t let this hideous world do that to ya. It’s a thankless place.

Leave a Reply

